PDA

View Full Version : Really sad lovie

chellybum
10-29-2007, 08:59 AM
I am a teacher, and I adopted my lovie in december... so she was used to me working everyday. We really got to know each other over the summer and she really bonded to me.

It has been 2 full months since I went back to school .. and my poor lovie is still the saddest bird around.

Every morning i play with her before i leave for about 30 mins... and she just never wants to go back in her cage... when i finally get her in she whines and cries and starts giving my hands kisses as if to say Please don't go I love you!!

As soon as i get home I play will her all night until she goes to bed

when I am at work she is infront of the window all day so she can look at the cars (something she loves to do)

She doesn't respond well to the radio or tv when noone is in the house.. she just squaks at it

the reason i am writing is because i am noticing her tail feathers are not kept at the end.. they are all broken at the tips..
she does have toys that she plays with and i change them every two weeks..

is there anything else i can do to make her a happy birdie when I am gone? i don't want the problem to get worse!

sk2
10-29-2007, 01:31 PM
she sounds like a cute little birdie......it's pretty difficult to see them getting sad! may be you could consider getting another lovie to give her company. also see if you can understand the kind of toys she likes...some of them like shredding things like plam leaf and that keeps them busy for quite sometime.

mjm8321
10-29-2007, 01:42 PM
As long as she's getting a lot of attention when you are home, she should be ok. The tailfeathers may be due to a perch being too close to the cage bars or some lovies play rought on their toys and bash their tailfeathers.

Getting a friend for her is always an option, but then it brings up other issues; breeding, fights, etc...

chellybum
10-29-2007, 02:10 PM