PDA

View Full Version : New -2 birds - what does the future hold?

FLINT
01-02-2008, 01:53 PM
Deaar Community,

I have 2 peachface that I love. One I have about 7 weeks the other 4. Both were 4 mo. when bought, they are kept in separate cages. The younger - buddy (yellow) follows the older Spiffy everywhere, never fight. They are both good to me and will sit on my finger. -- In short I am very happy.

Question: I am receiving contradictory information. A Borders book on taming & training - author was male - forget name I skimmed. SAID:
1) Love birds do not bond with humans like other birds
2) They revert to being wild easily
3) They will not let you touch them when they reach adulthood.
I feel like mine have bonded with me -- it even seems like they purr. Am I crazy -- will things change? If you have over a year with lovies let me know what the future holds. ---- Thank-you Flint

tokameaki
01-02-2008, 02:03 PM
i am not an expert.....but i think it depends on the bird some bird will never let u touch them.....other will beg to to take them out to play with them.....

romeoandjulietlovies06
01-02-2008, 02:17 PM
My lovies will be two in Feb. and i have had them since they were 12 weeks old. Just like yours they loved to sit on my shoulder when they were that young and they still do. I think that if you just keep spending time with them they will stay tame. Mine still come and sit on my shoulder and fingers they will clean my hair and give me kisses on the cheeks.

I also have a Quaker parrot and my lovies have bonded with people just as if not more then the Quaker. they love flying and meeting new people. Not meaning anything mean against the writer but in my opinion it doesn't sound like he has been blessed with owning a lovebird.

wilkiecoco
01-02-2008, 02:25 PM