PDA

View Full Version : Idea to prevent cage aggression ....

lemonypickett
01-05-2008, 03:44 AM
Ok, you all know I am very new to this, but..... I was thinking how nice it is that Eddie doesn't bite me when I go into his cage. So I was thinking, how do I keep him from becoming cage aggressive?

So, I decided to try out the rearrange the cage game. I had read that lovies get bored with the same toys, so I should rotate them. So, that is what I do, I also move perches, ladders, swings, his birdie tent and so one. Only food and water stay the same. I was thinking this reiterates that I am the boss. (Or that I pretend to be)

Is this a good idea, or am I stressing my boy out? He seems to not care that I rearrange every 5 - 7 days or so.

What do you think?

michael
01-05-2008, 05:27 AM
Eddie may be thinking.....wow!....He cleans my cage, gives me food, rearranges my furniture.....what more can I ask for?......and I don't even have to order him around :)!

I move around my Goof's toys every now and then. There are so many he hasn't tried that get re-introduced into his cage or play area's. Often I'll introduce them outside the cage first before adding them to his cage so he knows they won't "get em':eek:" Like you, I don't move his food bowls but I have switched them around vice versa food and water. His cozy I keep in one place as long as he continues to go in it. He's very touchy about that and only prefers the blue one he's got now. Really, he's pretty easy going with moving stuff around. I think if it helps to keep them curious and occupied and has no effect on eating, drinking or sleeping its a good thing. Moving their cage/home around....now that would be a different story. You know, the one thing I'm not entirely sure of is whether it affects females(hens) different from the males. I've heard it does, but then I've never kept a female lovebird......yet......:)

thebubbleking
01-05-2008, 05:08 PM