PDA

View Full Version : Gender Characteristics

matrona
06-09-2008, 09:14 PM
Hi all,

My previous posts' remarks, raised my eyebrows a little bit, and I'm a tad concerned. I wondered if people who have had their birds, either dna tested, or have pairs that have bred, could shed some light on the different types of characteristics that each of the males and females portray - and any differences between the two of them.

I have to wait 3 weeksbefore getting the dna test results back from my vet; and so I'm just ancy! :)

It's so hard and each bird will definitely be unique in terms of its personality and attitude, behaviour, but i just wondered if there were any hints on some concrete behavioural patterns, characteristics, etc. for each gender. I tried a search in the forums, but I dont think this has really been addressed in great detail (unless im searching wrong) lol.

Pips mom
06-09-2008, 09:53 PM
Well, I am no expert here, but from what I can see, lovies like to keep their sex a big secret! and then surprise you!!!! I think they are one of the more difficult ones to tell by behavior. With cockatiels it's easy! I think my lovie is a boy because he is not bitey, not territorial, pretty easy going, and he humps his rope toy every day! :rofl: but we actually have someone on here who had a boy (of so she thought) and he laid an egg! so those mischievous little lovies like to not make things easy for us to figure out! They like to keep us on our toes! Keep us guessing! those crazy lovies! :nyah:

Kristina
06-10-2008, 05:42 AM
I haven't had Fenway DNA tested. I'm pretty sure he's a she. Fen is a bit nippy and will still hump things. LOL. I came to the conclusion in thinking he's a she because of the way he/she tries to "give herself" to the broom (one of her lovers). :omg: She spreads her wings and then points her tail feathers up and backs towards it. LOL.