PDA

View Full Version : Worried about my bird

calico jack
08-25-2008, 08:49 PM
So I've had Jack for about a week now. I made a post a few days ago about being worried about him eating/drinking but those fears have passed it seems. He seems to be eating and drinking on a regular basis.

I had him out of the cage almost every day this week in a towel. I hold him in the towel and pet him he is pretty ok with it after he quits trying to bite me which only goes on for a few seconds.

But today and yesterday it just seems like I'm taking steps backward. Jack really doesn't seem to active in the cage and sits on his perch all day. I have toys for him, and a cuttle bone, but he just chills on the top perch all day. He is also still very afraid of me approaching the cage and my hands.

I just don't know it seems like I was doing so well with him at first but now the progress has really halted. I am a college student and have noisy room mates. I keep him down stairs away from the noise. But when I know my room mates are going to be down close to his room for long periods of time, I put him in a quiet room.

I just don't know what to do, I read the must reads from the lovebird resources and am trying to follow everything I read. Does anyone have any advice for a first time bird owner?

kimsbirds
08-25-2008, 10:03 PM
S L O W D O W N !!!

Really, it takes months for a lovie to feel comfortable in a new environment, with new people, and new things.

The best advice I can offer you is to let your bird set the pace for interaction and socialization. Offer an open cage door for him to come out of, but don't reach in and/or force him to come out if he doesn't want to.
Lovebirds are naturally curious, trust me, he will come out...on his own time. Be consistent with rituals involving feeding, watering, cleaning, toy rotation, cage location, and have TONS of conversations with your bird from outside his cage.