PDA

View Full Version : Still isn't trusting me

jmeikle
09-15-2008, 02:17 PM
Hi again.

I've been spending time with my lovebird for a couple of months and I haven't seen much progress. She used to be very scared of human contact but now I can put my hand in her cage and she'll try to bite it (most of the time to 'tell' me to get my hand out because she pushes it). I put my jumper over my hand and I'm able to touch her. But I need to push up to get her to go on it but most of the time she just jumps on the side of the cage.

Why isn't she trusting me or my hand? She doesn't seem to like getting picked up or touched. :(

HaleBoppPeachyluv
09-15-2008, 05:04 PM
awww... i had an awful time getting my sunnybird to trust me. Do you ever just open her doors and let her come out on her own? that was the key for my lovie. her cage is right next to our couch and i sit right in front of her door to watch tv or use my lap top.

Once she was out and exploring, i would catch her and take her to the other room. last weekend we had a sort o f a breakthrough as she decided that my hands really aren't that scary and make quite good chew toys. i'm constnatly having to redirect her.

shylevon
09-15-2008, 07:19 PM
Most lovebirds don't care for hands, and even the most tame lovebirds don't like hands put into their cages, ever. Even my most friendly birds will take my hand clean off if I put it into their cages. The cage is birdie's sanctuary, and the one place they should feel safe. If you want your birdie to trust you, you should reconsider sticking your hands in his cage. You don't like your neighbors bursting into your house and grabbing at you, do you? Same thing.

Mydoona
09-17-2008, 11:11 PM