PDA

View Full Version : New to lovebirds, and had a few questions!

AlFa
12-21-2008, 03:43 AM
Hi, I just got two baby hand fed lovebirds on friday. I visited my uncle overseas the last two summers and he lives on a farm with lots of animal including canaries and love birds. I wanted to see how it is to raise one of my own. I have been debating on whether I should try this or not over the pas year or so and here I am. I am pretty patient and very caring and determined, so I am sure I will be successful. Anyway, as i am new to this, I had a few questions and was hoping for some help.

When I bought them, the person I bought it from told me that I am supposed to handle them a lot in order to keep them tame. So we basically started playing with them right away. This includes taking them out of their cages, holding them, having them sit on my hand and fingers, even drops of water on them (to bathe them). Was this a mistake?? Should I let them decide when to come out? They stick to the corners of their cage. I have an empty container in there which I am going to fill with some sort of food tomorrow, but one of the birds spends a significant amount of time in there. Is this normal, is it a sign that it is scared and not used to its new cage? Does this reinforce my concern of leaving them in the cage until they want to come out? Should I be handling them this early? They do flutter and get a bit scared when I put my hand in the cage and at first when i bring them out, but after a while they seem content perched on my finger or crawling up my arm. But they do seem scared of my other hand if I bring it near them. I even tried the whole step up thing, and it does come on to my other finger/hand. Does it sound like I should give it more time to get used to its cage before I take it out or handle it? Should I even take it out or wait for it to come out on its own and come to me?