PDA

View Full Version : building a nest

sdgilley
08-06-2005, 01:41 PM
I gave Peepo a pinata to play with, and she's spent days tearing it apart quite happily. Today I noticed her carrying a load of shreddings tucked in her rump feathers to her food dish (she's always loved to sit inside it). She is building a nest inside her food dish. It's a round stainless steel cup that fits into a holder.

I don't want to encourage her to build a nest, as she'll be laying eggs in there if I do. Should I remove all the pinata or will I traumatize her at this point? So far, she doesn't feel bulgy - but I have no experience with hens, only what I've read here. I feel like a total goof.

Thanks for any advice!

ADDED: I took her pinata out and gave her some fresh food while I played with her. I also put a wooden toy in place of the pinata for her to play with instead. I hope this helps discourage egg laying. :roll:

LauraO
08-06-2005, 01:56 PM
I would pull out the pinata and move the food dish and maybe even change the food dish. I would not give Peepo another pinata for a while or ever. It is probably too early to traumatize her. I always move perches, huts, papers or whatever the minute I see anything that may lead to egg laying. The lovies don't seem to mind and it keeps them from laying.

sdgilley
08-06-2005, 02:33 PM
Thanks Laura,
I moved some things around and took away the pinata. She was so intent on playing with me, she didn't seem to mind. Luckily it isn't something she's used to having, it was a treat.

I think you're right about moving the food dish. It's in a back corner and probably is attractive to sit in due to it's location.

BarbieH
08-06-2005, 02:33 PM
I agree with Laura. Removing nesting materials this early won't traumatize a bird ... frustrate some, yes. Traumatize, no.