PDA

View Full Version : we're getting there....

LovelySydney
02-19-2009, 01:05 PM
We are still patiently awaiting Gus's sex results - we might have jumped the gun with a boy name! lol but at this point I don't think it's going to matter if he's a boy or a girl, he's a part of our family FOR SURE & I couldn't bear being without him. he's such a quiet, timid little guy and he just sits and watches us and hangs out. He chirps now if we leave a room and when we come back he's quiet - so we know he's chirping for us!! My bf & I both think he's a boy because he always sits with his feet soooo close together. I know this isn't a tell-tale sign for sure, but that's what we think!!:)

Today Gus was on his play gym and I started training him to let me touch his beak, using clicker training. The first few times he would open his beak but I was very persistent and now I can pet his beak without any hesitation on his part. I was amazed that it only took him 15 minutes to learn, but I believe that him trusting me played a big part in him learning. We will have to reenforce I'm sure, but we're getting there!

OMG & I promise I will post pictures soon - I've been trying to borrow a camera!!

michael
02-19-2009, 04:17 PM
Way to go Gus!.......:happy:.......Way to go fidparents!......:happy:...................:D

thebubbleking
02-20-2009, 04:59 PM
Hey i found a sure fire way to sex test them without dna!
It only works with lovebirds because sunshine is a bigot, but if you have a male sunshine will hang out with him and show him around etc if its a hen for sure sunshine will feed her and try to get his swishy on!
Works everytime!
lol

Bubblelady
02-20-2009, 05:04 PM
Hey i found a sure fire way to sex test them without dna!
It only works with lovebirds because sunshine is a bigot, but if you have a male sunshine will hang out with him and show him around etc if its a hen for sure sunshine will feed her and try to get his swishy on!
lol