PDA

View Full Version : New flights = out of control!!!

Pips mom
03-20-2009, 10:19 AM
Wow, what a difference a few new flight feathers make! I've been seeing it coming on now for a week or so, but today was it......I couldn't catch him, or get him in his cage, he is HORRIBLE with his new flight abilities :omg:.....it was so bad that we actually had to catch him and clip some flights ourselves, which I have never done before. At first we only clipped a few longer ones, and let him go and he was still flying great! so we caught him again and got a few more and perfect! He can fly just the right amount! I did notice he had a new flight feather that was still wrapped up alot on the bottom half of it, so we left that feather alone because I was afraid of it being a blood feather. Pip has not been clipped now since his vet visit back in Aug......for a long time when his flights would grow in, he would break them....he is so rough and tough, and I was wondering when he'd finally grow in new ones without them breaking! I can't believe he went that long without a clip and didn't need one. Everytime I saw a new flight, it would be on the outside alone with no other feathers protecting it and every time he would break it. Finally, new flights growing like crazy now, but WOW I guess it's been so long I forgot how bad he is with flight!

linda040899
03-20-2009, 10:40 AM
Aw, your arial acrobat has been partially grounded! :omg: Doesn't sound like it's having too bad of an effect. Safety first!

Pips mom
03-20-2009, 10:44 AM
Safety first!

Yeah, safety AND sanity!!! :omg:

linda040899
03-20-2009, 10:52 AM
Yeah, safety AND sanity!!! :omg:

Ah yes, sanity!! Pip really is a character and knows how to keep you on your toes!! :lol

Chickobee
03-20-2009, 01:01 PM
Ha ha! :) It sounds like Pip really had you going.