PDA

View Full Version : Can pet lovies lay fertile eggs

bdfarm
03-26-2009, 04:21 PM
I hope this is not a stupid question. I'm fairly new at this. I recently got two lovebirds as a pair. I was told that they they were bonded but not dna sexed. Supposedly the first owner bred them but the second owner had no luck. We are the third owner. Anyway, I was told that you cannot tame a breeder lovie too much or they will bond with you instead of their mate, thus causing her to not lay fertile eggs anymore. Is this true? If so, where do I draw the line. One of our birds is becoming affectionate and the other is very "bitey" still. I would like to breed them in the future but not until I learn more about them.

Enko_chan
03-26-2009, 04:44 PM
That is absolutely not true!

You can become as friendly as you please with your birds and if they laid fertile eggs before, odds on they will do so again.

This forum has a great reference library and a lot of kind people to share their knowledge and wisdom. You've come to the right place!

Welcome!

bdfarm
03-26-2009, 05:14 PM