PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about a second lovie

Ducky
07-22-2009, 06:14 PM
So. I'm a college student and I am forced to spend hours away all day, and my Widgie (a hen) only gets one to two hours out a day. I've recently moved into a friends house who has multiple parrots who live upstairs and me and Widgie lives downstairs. Since I've moved in she loves to try to talk to the others (loudly of course) and looks at them very curiously whenever they are out together. However, the other parrot close to her size is a very territorial hen who does not want to make friends.

However, Widgie's friendliness towards the others makes me consider getting her a neighbor and potential future cagemate. It's not that she seems unhappy, just that I feel bad for such a social bird to be alone so much. I've noticed that though the other parrots don't get more out time than Widgie they seem to like talking to eachother all day. My only concern is that if Widgie decided the new bird was her mate she wouldn't want to be a pet anymore.

Currently, I am her mate. She loves to be around me and is friendly and tolerant of others, unless she is nervous or in a terrible mood. The only person she is aggressive towards is my boyfriend because she sees him as a mate threat. I know that if she mated with another bird she would become more distant, and I think I'd be ok with that, but I want to be able to still hold her and cuddle occasionally.

Just wanted the opinions from some people with multiple lovie homes. I really would love to adopt another lovie, but want to keep the one I have!

momo
07-22-2009, 08:58 PM
I was sort of in your position.. and I got a second love. Your Widgie sounds exactly like my Elmo.