PDA

View Full Version : It's only day 8 but I think they love me

SherryA
08-03-2009, 09:57 PM
Today was the 8th day with our new lovebirds. They are a pair of 3-year old adoptees. They are beautiful. The male allowed the previous owner to hold him but the female did not like to be held, so I didn't really expect much bonding with her.

Today, both of them climbed on my arm and up to my shoulder. Ever since then, they act like they want to be with me all the time. When I go to their cage, the climb all over the front and when I open the door to change their water, they want out. I am so thrilled, but surprised that they seem to have just clicked all of a sudden.

It is almost like they are moving too fast for me. :) I need to get up to speed on what to expect from these two... I am new to this. One likes to tug on my shirt. The other (the female) did nip at my fingers but I kept them tucked, knowing that neither likes fingers) so that they did not get bit.

Any suggestions for what I should do to get used to them since they seem to be moving so fast to tame me? :happy: I really expected this to take much longer and have been giving them a lot of space and just talking to them and caring for them.

pietdiebrood
08-03-2009, 11:32 PM
My advice: Just go with the flow! 8) If there's anything I've learnt from having a lovebird, it's to expect the unexpected! It sounds as though your two lovies are keen to give and receive affection, so let them! I think you've done exactly the right thing up until this point, i.e. you've given them space and you've taken care of them. You've given them the time to adjust and to decide they like you! :happy:

If the female's nipping or biting becomes a problem I would try some gentle discipline. The 'Biter's' forum should help you with that. As important as it is that your birds feel that they are loved, they also need to know who's in charge. :)

Hope they tame you soon!

linda040899
08-04-2009, 03:20 AM
Hi Sherry,