PDA

View Full Version : OT - Horrible Loss

Enko_chan
08-25-2009, 07:38 PM
This isn't a bird post, but I've drifted away from my betta fish forum, there was ENDLESS, RIDICULOUS DRAMA there that the moderators got involved in unnecessarily and the forum manager did nothing about.

Anyhow, I thought being animal-lovers all, in here, and having many breeders of birds and other animals, this would be understood.

In the past 2 days I lost almost all of my female breeders. No symptoms. No nothing. I have many years of experience and have an enitre fish pharmacy that I keep up-to-date, though most of it just expires and get thrown out, if ANYTHING at all had been out of place, I could have done something. I've tested the water for all parameters within reason, and everything appears right on. None of my male fish, thus far, are affected.

These are not pet shop betta fish. They are imported from around the world, and many of them were hand-picked from years of breeding my own lines. This is my livelihood. I cannot afford to replace them, nor can I afford to get into more extensive testing. There is no contamination between tanks, all of my breeders are separate, have their own net, etc. Nothing, and I mean, nothing, has changed. We are assuming it is something hormonal in the water.

Aside from the lost money and the fact that none of these fish had seen their first spawn, I get attached to my fish. I recognize that they will live 2 years, maybe 3, 4 at the most except in unusual cases, but this is quite the blow. When I found the first fish, our favorite one out of all of them, dead, we assumed she had some kind of internal problem that caused sudden death. Then, the rest of them dropped without warning.

I'm not really looking for advice, though I would be happy to hear it if anyone has an informed opinion on what may have happened. I figured if anyone would understand this sort of thing, it would be you guys. :very_sad:

Flip
08-25-2009, 07:59 PM
Oh sweetie.