PDA

View Full Version : scared of my hand

dayz
09-28-2009, 08:37 PM
hello im new at this will i just need help i have two lovebirds one of them was handfeed that is the (girls) they (boy) i got him in the petshop they are scared went i put my hand in the cage . so i stop doing that i just open the gate for them to come out the 1st one that is out is th boy and then later she they are just scared of my hand or my fingers the boy fly to my head or my shoulders so i dont know what to do what can i do for them not to be scared of my hand :very_sad::(

Tango's_Mom
09-28-2009, 09:04 PM
That is a very natural reaction for new birds, it just takes time for them to get used to you and handling, if they will already come out and sit on you then you are ahead of the game. Avoid scaring them by sticking your hands in the cage or trying to grab them or pick them up. Also if their wings are not clipped I would have this done immediately since it will make it easier to tame and work with them and also is very important for their safety. As for getting used to hands and handling, it just takes alot of patience. It took me 6 months to get tango to accept my hands, although he was happy so be social with me long before that. If you use the search function and look at some of my older posts, I have detailed many times the process and time it took to get Tango to the stage he's at now.

Bubblelady
09-28-2009, 09:25 PM
Avoid scaring them by sticking your hands in the cage or trying to grab them or pick them up.

I whole-heartedly second that. But sometimes you have to...like when you have to give meds twice a day :( Johari is on me in a heartbeat if Gussie is on me. But now that she's back in QT, I have to resort to catching her :omg: