PDA

View Full Version : Need Help In Returning My Lovies to the Cage

elliemac
03-16-2010, 06:42 PM
Hello to All. This is my first time in Lovebirds Plus Community. I am a first time bird & lovebird owner. I've had them about 2 months and they are about 5/6 months old.
When I got them I was told that I could just go into the cage and just grab them. I was a bit skeptical about this because all the research I did said not to do this. Well I did what the breeder said and started to have some behavioral problems. The one lovie started to nip and guard the cage. I finally felt like I should take a different approach. I started by opening their perch door to let them come out on their own:confused. The one comes out easily onto my arm, will sometimes still nip, but flies off to the floor. The other is very scared but usually follows suit. Once they get away from me it is extremely hard to get them back. I literally chase them around until I can grab them. I know this is probably not what I'm supposed to do, but how do I get them back in the cage? How do I get enough handling time? :confused:

bookworm0550
03-16-2010, 07:58 PM
Can you lure them with treats? Unfortunately grabbing them can make it worse. I usually lure my biter back that way. Or I chase after one til he's a bit tired and then he will step up for me to bring him back.

bookworm0550
03-16-2010, 07:59 PM
And by "chase" I'm not running after them. I'm simply following him around

Pips mom
03-16-2010, 09:35 PM