PDA

View Full Version : Lovies language :)

Raindroponthrose
08-04-2010, 10:41 PM
This came up while reading answers about lovies being loud...is there somewhere on the net,a description of each sound and its meaning that lovebird is making??? For example,everyone mentioned-CONTACT CALL- so I'd like to hear it somewhere or read about what all the sounds mean-I noticed the angry sound...but would like to hear(or read descriptions) of other lovies's sounds so I know if they are calling for each other or they are mad at each other or whatever thay may mean...I am new with lovies and would like to know what different sounds mean..ESPECIALLY CONTACT CALL!
(Think I know which one is that,but want to make sure :) )

Chickobee
08-07-2010, 10:19 PM
Boy! If you can interpret what the different sounds mean you are doing better than me.

Our birds do all kinds of sounds. Their contact call is a fairly loud quick chirp and immediately the other birds will answer with a similar chirp. Their contact calls to me are their personal renditions of pretty bird or hello pretty bird. They seem to have the rhythm down pat with the correct number of sounds but only I can tell what they are saying.

Some picked up a dog call whistle when Gus and Marlie were here for about a month so I sometimes hear that as a contact call within the flock.

They all do some wonderful chirps and wing flaps when they are feeling especially perky and showing off. Usually this is done in a group and they all get going doing it. It's a real riot.

The parent birds make special calls for their own babies and each hen sounds a little different. The newly fledged babies know their calls and will fly from across the room to the parents, and visa versa.

Then there is the general meelee when water is running, or we have a bunch of people in the house. They seem to compete with the noise.

Some people have lovies who can actually say a few words that people can understand, but not ours. :)