PDA

View Full Version : New Lovebird owner starting with 6 of them LOL. Any pointers???

zippitygirl1986
12-10-2010, 10:48 AM
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs742.ash1/163428_1496135805239_1289415053_1082069_2870902_n. jpg

Hi I am Ashley from Tampa FL. I live on a farm with many animals. I have raised a lot of different types. However this is my first time owning a bird other than chickens and ducks and I ended up with six of the little Lovies.

My mother-n-law and I were at our local feed store and they had 5 Peachface Lovebirds (four of which are babies with the black still on their beaks and one adult said to be a male). Feed store owner offered them to us with two cages and assessories for $25.00. So, we bought them.
None of which seemed to have been hand raised. All of them were skidish of us touching them.

When we brought them home the male adult was separated, and the babies were together. After a few days we bought a much larger cage and put them all in together. The adult male had a nest box that he was using in his 1st home so we went ahead and transferred it into his new cage. We bought the babies a box of their own and filled their cage with lots of fun toys.

In doing research, which most of it contradicts itself, we found out that lovies will become vey territorial over their boxes and for training/taming purposes it would be best to remove them. Which we did. In shopping for more bird accessories we came across a hand raised Peachface Lutino lovebird baby, which we fell in love with, and bought her as well. She is still in a separate cage from the others, but we do let them play together in their play gym and they get along great.