PDA

View Full Version : Mystery Solved UNBELIEVABLE

bird-brain
02-09-2011, 01:49 PM
First I want to thank all of you for your kind words and the support you have offered me since the death of my lil Tango. I know i have been a basket case. But something was just needling at me that I could not put my finger on. I am a Clinical Research Associate by trade and so lab values and cell morphology MATTERS to me. There were ,some things that were inconsistent, things that should have been reported that weren't etc. They had not been able to do a WBC on him because of the condition of the blood sample which made me wonder if the crit count was even correct. A bird with a crit of 22 should not have been able to stand let alone fly around a room so it just didn't jive. Soooooooooo, I had a copy of Tango's labs and necropsy results faxed to me.

The only real finding was "abundant hemorrhage in the trachea and crop". There was a 3.5 cm blood clot in the ventral aspect of the neck adjacent to the area of the lab draw. The pathologist hypothesized that the lab draw itself caused the hemorrhage.

Now guys, I am a reasonable person. I know that lab draws on tiny birds is a dangerous procedure that sometimes does not go well. It is heart breaking to think that Tango likely had the same infection that Cabo is being treated for but did not survive the trauma of the lab draw. I hate that, but I could have lived with it as one of those things that just happens.