PDA

View Full Version : Suzie is becoming a little Demon... again! Help

sobkowich
03-18-2011, 03:10 AM
I've been working with my Lovebird for a couple months now, giving her space to do her own thing, and she has gone from screaming most of the day and evening, to comfortably sitting on my, or my girlfriends shoulder or chasing the cat up and down the stairs. At first I was worried about the cat getting the better of the bird, but lately, it seems as if the cat enjoys the attention and actually will roll onto her back (submissivly) and let Suzie walk on her from time to time.

Anyway, the problems that have persisted have been the ones that I am at a loss about, and wanted to get some input on.

First of all, Suzie is now about 10 months old, and fully flighted. She always has been. I have never been able to either get her to let me clip her flight feathers, or find anyone I trust to come over and have it done. So I think that Suzie thinks she has no reason to even try to socialize with me any more than she needs to, because when she's done with me, she can just fly away. Should I commit to getting her clipped? If so, that generates a whole ton of other problems.

Secondly, she knows that during the afternoon / evening, she will have free time out of her cage, and when she's out she loves to come close to us. At first I thought this was a good thing, as it showed me that she liked being around my girlfriend and I. But then I realized, she will never let us touch / pet or hold her. If she lands on my arm or head, she just sits there, and if I try to offer her a treat or get her to move a bit, then she'll scream, fly about 2 feet up, then land again, on the same spot.