PDA

View Full Version : Who's who?

droppy
06-26-2011, 04:00 AM
Hello,

I'm new to lovebirds, so it's great o find such useful resources!

I've recently purchased 2 lovebirds, from a local petshop. The staff there said they are less than a year old, but i'm not so sure. Also, we noticed that in the pet shop they used to stick together, so we thought they're a couple.

Nevertheless, they sometimes fight (over food regularly), and only one of them grooms the other. We would really like to hear your opinion on them: are we the proud owners of 2 girls or 2 boys? If they are a boy and a girl, who's who? :)

Here's a picture of the 2 of them: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/233/dsc0200rc.jpg/

Thank you!

linda040899
06-26-2011, 06:43 AM
I can't tell you by looking if you have male/female, male/male or female/female. Peachfaces need to be DNA sexed in order to determine who is who. Both are over 6 months old, as both are in full color.

Part of your problem is most likely your cage. Round cages are not good for parrots, as they see "round" as an unending wall with no safe places to hide (corners). The cage is also way too small. Most of the cages I use for my breeders are 18"H x 18"W x 36"L with 1/2" bar spacing. Replacing the cage may solve your squabbling problem.

droppy
06-26-2011, 08:22 AM
I can't tell you by looking if you have male/female, male/male or female/female. Peachfaces need to be DNA sexed in order to determine who is who. Both are over 6 months old, as both are in full color.

Part of your problem is most likely your cage. Round cages are not good for parrots, as they see "round" as an unending wall with no safe places to hide (corners). The cage is also way too small. Most of the cages I use for my breeders are 18"H x 18"W x 36"L with 1/2" bar spacing. Replacing the cage may solve your squabbling problem.