PDA

View Full Version : Sneezing lovebird?

Becky9096
05-31-2015, 09:35 AM
Hi there, I have another quick question regarding my lovebirds...
One i have had for two years and I have never heard 'sneeze'... the other one is a newly acquired bird Sunny who seems to sneeze regularly. I have only had her a month and i Quarantined her for 2 weeks before introducing to my other bird.

I am in my final year of studying veterinary medicine at university, so I am well aware that a sneezing bird is not a good sign... but im not even sure if this is a sneeze? Its the quietest little noise after she has flown or something and I am just wondering if lovebirds clear their nares /nostrils often or whether its an actual sneeze? She has no respiratory distress, nasal discharge, is quite happy eating and playing etc so im just wondering if she is just clearing her nostrils? Does anyone elses bird make this noise?

Thank you!

linda040899
06-01-2015, 07:54 AM
I generally don't have parrots that sneeze, either, so this might be worth having your avian vet check. It could very well be nothing but peace of mind is worth the trip. :)

akki
06-01-2015, 08:16 AM
The only time I heard my birds "sneeze" is when they take a bath, they make a sound that sounds like sneezing, but I understand that as getting rid of water that went into their nostrils. Other than that, I have no clue. Maybe it's dry / dusty in the cage? What kind of cage bedding do you use?

In the beginning, when I got my birds, I would go avian vet each time I wasn't sure. Now I just go with my gut feeling. If you are worried, then probably the best is to take Sunny to the vet, but I don't think that there is anything going on, as respiratory illness goes combined with other symptoms as well.

Becky9096
06-01-2015, 03:54 PM
Ok thanks,