PDA

View Full Version : Two and half months Split offline lovebird ~ need help and tips

EAZi Parrots
07-06-2016, 01:08 PM
Hello, I got a lovely baby lovebird today, he/she is still 2.5 months old, I'm new to birds, this is my first bird. I bought only 1 since I read that having two will make them bond with eachother rather than bonding with you. Correct me if I'm wrong please. Anyways I need help on how to manage him, I know that I have to handfeed him 5 times a day. I've learnt a lot from this forum already, but I thought I would make a post out of excitement and I might get some tips or suggestions from you guys that I've missed. Also I would like to know if getting another little lovebird would be a good idea. Thanks for your time guys. Will be uploading pics soon.

EAZi Parrots
07-06-2016, 02:28 PM
One more thing, my Lovebird doesn't have feathers on her back, is this normal for a lovebird of this age (where 2.5 months), or should be fully grown by now?!

EAZi Parrots
07-06-2016, 04:53 PM
2.5 months lovebird https://imgur.com/gallery/bL1LN

linda040899
07-07-2016, 08:00 AM
Are the photos you shared current, as within the last several days? Can you share one that shows his back, including full tail feathering? I'm questioning 2.5 months, as his long tail feathers don't appear to be fully grown in, unless they were removed by being plucked. Did you get him from a breeder?

Sorry for all the questions, but I need more information that might explain what I'm seeing. If he's actually 2.5 months old (10 weeks), he should be just about weaned if he's been hand fed so 5 times/day just doesn't make sense. I think he's really younger, closer to maybe 6-7 weeks and that might be an over estimate. I'm a breeder and I've hand fed many babies so I will be more than happy to share whatever information I can with you.