PDA

View Full Version : Help with identifying mutation

Christine9
11-12-2005, 12:57 AM
Tomorrow I might be getting two new lovies (yea!). I was just trying to figure out the technical names for their colors- I am rather new at determining the different peachfaced mutations. Anyway, one of them is an orange faced olive (it has the dark grey rump that double dark factors have, so it is definitely an olive). The other, I believe, is a orange faced lutino, I just haven't been able to find a good picture of what a OF lutino rump looks like. This one has a white rump. The body is yellow and the face and part of the tail feathers are orange. It also has red eyes. So, am I correct in assuming it is a OF lutino?

Jezz
11-12-2005, 03:22 AM
Yup, it sounds like a OF Olive and an OF Lutino.

Lutino and Creamino have white rumps, but in different light they sometimes show up as light blue :)

Can't wait to see some photos when you get the new birds

Christine9
11-12-2005, 06:09 AM
The lutino does look like it has a hint of color in its rump, though it looks to be more violet than blue. Then again, maybe it is just wishful thinking on my part- is it even possible for a lutino to have a violet factor? I really know nothing about mutations.

I will definitely post pics soon.

butterfly1061
11-12-2005, 06:40 AM
Actually the rump feathers are iridescent in color. Beautiful, huh? I have a PF Lutino & a Creamino and IMHO they are gorgeous :D I think you can see pictures of the different mutations here on the board under Breeding in the Genetics section. :)

linda040899
11-12-2005, 07:22 AM
Christine,
Sounds like what you will be getting is an OF Lutino. Ino will mask (hide) violet so if this bird is a violet, you would not see it until you breed the bird. The "wash" of color on the rump feathering is normal. OF Lutino is the green series version of OF ino. In blue series, OF = Yellowface.

Christine9
11-12-2005, 02:44 PM