PDA

View Full Version : vacation

golucky
12-10-2005, 09:36 AM
Since I am new with lovebirds, I have this question - Is it alright to leave on friday, come back on monday, leave the lovebirds with plenty of water and food, will they be all right pver Christmas? :confused:

golucky

linda040899
12-10-2005, 09:47 AM
No. Lovebirds have a inate ability to get into trouble very quickly so there's no way I would leave them alone that long. Not only that, other emergencies can happen that would be life threatening (loss of electricity, loss of heat) since the weather is cold outside. Lovebirds tend to get their water dirty very quickly and they would not survive your absence for that long a period of time. Even if you leave them a lot of food, chances are that they would eat it very quickly so they could be without food for at least part of the time that you will be gone.

Options would be to board them, take them with you or have someone come in to check on them several times/day.

Janie
12-10-2005, 09:48 AM
Do you have anyone that could come in on Sat. and Sun. to change food and water? That is definitely the best option. Or boarding them.

I will tell you that my adopted lovebird was left for several days and on many occasions, alone with no fresh food or water before we adopted him. I've had him for over two years and he still rations his seed. I think it's because he never knew when he'd get fresh seed so he didn't ever eat all that was there. My concern, more than the seed, would be fresh water because of bacteria. So, in my case, I would not leave my birds alone, even overnight.

Janie
12-10-2005, 09:50 AM
"(loss of electricity, loss of heat)"

After I posted and then read Linda's reply, the loss of electricity would definitely scare the heck out of me.

golucky
12-10-2005, 04:26 PM