PDA

View Full Version : I need help

Beemow
04-04-2006, 12:21 AM
Hello,
This is my first time posting.

I just got a peach faced lovebird from a friend.

He was about to throw it outside but i told him not to.

Now i have this bird in a cage. The cage seems great, it has toys,

3 sources of water, and 2 sources of food. I got 2 perches.

This lovebird does not seem to ever sleep on the perches.

He usually just hangs on his toy at night or on the side of his cage.

He seems to be itching more then my friends bird too. What should I do

to fix this problem? He also seems to bite my fingers if i put them close to him.

To carry him i use a glove it seems to work.

linda040899
04-04-2006, 12:42 AM
Hi and welcome to our community!
Congratulations on becoming a lovebird owner! Give your lovebird time and attention and you will find that you have a wonderful companion. Half the battle is understanding what lovebirds (and birds in general) are all about.

Let me address the sleeping issue first. Your lovebird feels comfortable/safe there, even though it may not look that way. You may convince him to use a perch if you put one near the toy where he sleeps. Lovebirds usually like to sleep high up, as they would in the wild. Birds are not as domesticated as cats or dogs and they retain some of their natural instincts. Depending on the size of the cage, I would not move a perch. I would add one, instead, if possible.