PDA

View Full Version : playgyms as training aids...?

Dove
05-16-2006, 11:03 AM
Hi everyone...bright blessings to all...

I am considering buying a playgym...researched the wooden ones from very simple bird eyelevel designs...to larger and more complex 2 and 3 story(platforms) with feeding stations...etc...I do plan on having more than 1 or 2 lovebirds using it at the same time...supervised of course...

Will they get more use and exercise with a larger gym and have less potiential conflict...or is a smaller gym at birds eyelevel a better choice...
price is not a consideration...it's a gift...nor is size...

I'm hoping they will consider it to be neutral territory...but as I have no experience in this...don't know what to expect...I have read pros and cons in the advertizing of each kind...and their great help as "training aids"...is this hype...?

Please give me real Lovebird experience feedback...

thanks...

shylevon
05-16-2006, 11:27 AM
I have eight birds, and they are rarely on the gym all at the same time. I think bigger is better, as you will have conflicts, and the more intricate the better too. I have ladders, leather rope thongs, swings, and bells on mine. It gives the birds lots to do, and I ensure it is large enough so any birdie that is having a squabble with any other birdie has a place to go and play away from troublemakers. I think that if my gym was any smaller less birdies would use it at any given time.

My gym used to be on the floor, and of course that is dangerous for birdies to be on the floor. Now the gym is atop the cage, and I have a sheet of hard plastic between the gym and the cage to prevent biten toes. Some people have a stand gym and a separate gym hung from the ceiling. That way all birdies have a place to play. Now, this all depends on how many birds you have.

Asue
05-23-2006, 05:43 PM