PDA

View Full Version : Still shy, but should i try??

Lovebirds1578
07-24-2006, 09:40 PM
I've had my lovebird for a week, and i guess i was suppost to try and handle it after day 2. So the lil guy is still afraid of when i put my hand near it in the cage, so should i just try and pick it up and handle it? or wait it out and stuff? I'm new to the whole lovebird/bird owning thing. Thank you!

-Ben:wink:

bellarains
07-24-2006, 09:46 PM
Ben,

Just how freaked out is Houdini when you put your hand in the cage? If totally freaked out, don't force it, but if just a bit shy, go ahead and see if you can pick him up. If not, try using an extra perch to get him to step up on.

When starting your sessions out, start with a five minute session, work up to ten minutes, and so on. Always have some water to offer a drink when you have him out for any length of time, but after 20-30 minutes, he will most likely be ready to go back for a little snack. Take your clues from him, as he will let you know what he wants, sometimes with a little nip:rolleyes:

Lovebirds1578
07-24-2006, 09:53 PM
Alrighty, i think i'm going to have a ton of fun with these lil pocket parrots. I have a feeling all my money is going to be going towards toys and stuff to spoil the heck out of houdini. I'm studying to be a vet (junior in high school at a agricultural school in MA) and i am a huge parrot person, my friends have them and finally i have my own little bunch of energy. I will let you know how it goes as i start!! Thanks!

-Ben

Lovebirds1578
07-25-2006, 03:57 PM
tried a 10 minute session of sticking my hand in the cage and such, got about 4 inches to him/her, and then jumped away, so i'm making alittle process!! Anyway, houdini has no choice tomarrow, ive got to take it and administer medicine through the nostrils tomarrow...so my famous washcloth is going to help me!

-Ben

Bekah
07-25-2006, 05:11 PM