PDA

View Full Version : Gender Preference Among Birds?

bird_luver24
09-14-2006, 11:17 AM
I know there are other animals (like dogs) that if raised around a Man as a baby then may pick up on only liking men or vice versa with women. I was wondering has anyone ever heard of this with birds? I just thought of it because the breeder I am getting my baby from is two guys that live together. So, I am not sure how much attention He has gotten from females if any. Does this make much of a difference?

Christine9
09-14-2006, 01:25 PM
I have heard about some birds that have gender preferences, but whether or not they occur because of what gender they are handraised by, I have no idea. I'd have to say that most of the stories I've heard about parrots preferring one gender over the other has been due to the fact they were abused or mistreated by one certain gender. I'm no expert (and I am sure the breeders here will be able to shed some more light) but I don't think you have anything to worry about, especially since you are getting your baby right after he/she has been weaned, and will probably bond very strongly to you.

Janie
09-14-2006, 08:24 PM
I've read that gender preferance is more obvious in much larger parrots. I don't think you have anything to worry about with a young lovie. :)

LauraO
09-14-2006, 08:37 PM
Our indian ringneck, Chubs HATES women and always has. His last owner had him over 8 years and said he would always attack any women who came near him. He got the bird from his in-laws with the understanding that his father in law could handle him but never the mother in law. We've had him about 8 months and he absolutely adores my husband. He makes little cooing noises and makes a purring sound whenever my husband pets him. He sees me, his eyes pin, and he's mad. I have been working really hard and he's coming around but it's touch and go. One minute he'll be interested in me and the next he's giving me a good chomp.