PDA

View Full Version : Getting my lovebird out of the cage

Kaytee
09-17-2006, 09:56 PM
Hi everyone, im new to the thread and I really need your advice.
I have had my lovebird for two weeks. The pet shop that I got my little love bird,Kiley, at said that it was ok to grab him if he doesn't want to get on my finger. They said that you have to show him that your the big boss. But I think that he just keeps getting more upset by doing that. But once he is out he loves to sit on my shoulder and give me kisses. He still doesnt like my hands thought. BTW he is only about 5 months old. I feel like im making no progress with getting him out of the cage.
Should I grab him from the cage, like the pet store said or should I use a different meatod?

chris_lynn
09-17-2006, 10:04 PM
WHAAAAAAAAAT!!!!!?????? they told it was ok to grab him!!!!!!! wow i wouldnt do that.... you should just get him used to your hand first. start byt opening the cage door and resting your hand really far from him and work you way up. when he lets your hand touch his stomack THEN you can start trying the step up command. u MUST try and build his trust first!!!!!

kimsbirds
09-17-2006, 10:08 PM
Please don't reach in and grab your new bird. Imagine being his size and seeing a huge hand coming at you ! How scared he must be!
Two weeks is not a lot of time for this bird to learn to trust you. Therefore, I would suggest you continue to gain his trust through talking, changing his food/water dishes, chirping at him and generally hanging out in the same room. This way he gets used to you and your sounds and looks.