PDA

View Full Version : New (and rather Unexpected) Mommy needs advice

arcrose
10-10-2006, 10:01 PM
Hello. I unexpectedly won my pair of peach-faced lovies in a raffle Monday, and would love to get advice on taming and handling them. The birds are 3-6 mos old, I don't know the sex, how long they've been together or if they're siblings. My goal is not to breed them (I'm actually praying both are boys-nesty hens just sound nasty!) but rather loving companions.

I've tried doing some research, but there's a lot of different advice. For example, lovies pairbond, but at 3-6 mos, can I separate them? Would this let them bond to me, or could they already be bonded and neigh unseperable? :confused:

How long should I let them acclimate before I start trying to get them to step up or take millet from my fingers? Right now, of course, when I put my hand in the cage to replace the water or food, there is much squawking and flapping and flitting about.

I admit I'm a novice when it comes to taming birds. :blush: I would appreciate any and all advice.

archer
10-10-2006, 10:09 PM
Hi!
Welcome to the world of fids :)

I think it can still be done. I had my lovie when he was 5 mos... it took a while but he flew to me yesterday (yehey). The keys are time and patience. Just talk to them regularly, read books beside them, or just watch TV. The point is try to get them used to being with you.:) I think you will feel when they are ready to train after that:)

As long as you dont try to force them to bond to you, I think everything will be well :)

Look at the resource library, there are tons of info. And with all the threads, i am sure that you can get tips on taming them :)

And of course! All th egreat people here! :D They are so helpful.

BarbieH
10-11-2006, 08:35 AM
Hi; :)

Yup, do as much reading as you can and ask questions. My husband and I didn't own any lovebirds at all until we were adopted by one; now we have eight.