PDA

View Full Version : what is ruby doing?

pertiebirdie
12-17-2006, 02:28 PM
please forgive me if i ask many silly questions here. i am new here and i have other birds but i am new to lovies.

anyhoo: ruby's cage is right next to the cage that houses my two budgies daisy and speck. they haven't been around each other long but speck seems to have taken a liking to ruby. she is always climbing over to the side of the cage closest to ruby and talking to her and such. but some times ruby will hit her beak against the side of the cage as if this really annoys her. i don't really understand because she is always hanging out as close as she can to the other cage and sometimes she will get really excited and squeak and squack and rub her beak up and down the side of the cage there as if she wants to come out and play with the budgies.

but i have read that lovebirds can be very terratorial so i cannot decide whether ruby really likes them or is really annoyed and is just trying to stand her ground and keep her terratory clear to the other birds.

another related incident: the one time i have let her out of her cage so far she bit speck's foot through the cage for no apparent reason. it was very frightening! speck was talking to her and all excited and then all of a sudden she clamped her beak onto speck's foot! it is all very confusing.

i hope all of that makes sense. can anyone give me some insight into this behavior? does she love them or hate them?

:p

erin

Teri
12-17-2006, 02:41 PM
Erin - Love birds are very agressive birds. big attitude lil package. They've been known to hurt and even kill birds larger them themselves. it's probably not a good idea to let her near the lil budgies. If you do decide to let them interact be very weary, a lovebirds beak can snap off a budgies toe easy..or worse.

pertiebirdie
12-17-2006, 02:55 PM