PDA

View Full Version : DNA Sexing

Nyghtraven
01-09-2007, 09:27 PM
I've been looking on DNA sexing my bird, since I first got it. So I called a vet and they said it would be like 40$. Looked on a older thread, found a site for Avian Biotech. Depending which one i decide to do.. Feather is 25$ and blood is 20$. Should I do it myself.. Or should I have the vet do it him/herself?

Mind you I used to be a vet asst. For dog, cats and lizards.. Never birds though..So.. I dont want our starting relationship to collapse because I decided to do this myself..

What do you guys think I should do?

linda040899
01-09-2007, 09:39 PM
I, personally, have never had any of my lovies "hold a grudge" because I did something they did not like. The trick to taking a blood sample from a short clipped nail is to get your lovebird to relax the foot of the short cut nail. Sometimes that's easy, other times, well, you wish someone else had done it. My preference would be feather sexing. Knowing the gender of your bird can be a good thing, as you kind of know the type of behavior you can expect.

DebSpace
01-09-2007, 09:47 PM
Hi, I'm not a vet tech, but would like to become one. I have done this myself using the feather method. Avian Biotech's website has complete information. Here is my thread on the first such test I did (I just recently did this again on both my new babies):

http://www.lovebirdsplus.com/community/showthread.php?t=6170

I'm confident you can this, too. I expect it compares to someone pulling out one or two hairs from our head. Be sure to give them some sweet scritches and their favorite treat when you are finished. ;)

Keltoth
01-09-2007, 10:00 PM
I do all my DNA testing through Avian Biotech, using the blood method. It is really fairly easy once you are used to it, but I admit that int he beginning there were a couple of my lovebirds on who I cut the nail WAY too short. Once you get the hang of it, it really isn't too bad.