PDA

View Full Version : Worried he is a she

patti2297
01-26-2007, 06:42 AM
The last few days I have noticed that Charlie is pulling the paper off his shredding toy, chewing on it (does not appear to be eating it), and then discarding it. A lot of times this ends up in his food dish or at the bottom of the cage. Again, I don't think he is eating it. Is this normal behavior for a male... female? Any thoughts? Maybe this is simply normal lovie activity and since I am a novice owner, just not familar with it. :D

The black of his eyes to me do look more oval than round.

P.S. I might add, Charlie sort of goes at the tearing of the paper sort of frantically chirping like crazy. What is funny, is today I hung some Kale (that I had nuked for 1 minute to cook slightly) and he goes after that in sort of the same way. I figure he might actually be getting some nutrition from the Kale though. hehe. Tricked him into eating his veggie I think.

Keltoth
01-26-2007, 08:05 AM
My females AND males both like to shred paper, but they each go about it differently. Typically, the males like to chew off pieces with no real symmetry to them and often just make spitballs out of it. The females, however, start by shearing off long, precise strips over and over, and then later on when they get a little older, they will take those strips and tuck them into their rump feathers and under the backs of their wings.

In my opinion, I would not sweat it too much unless/until you see Charlie tucking strips of paper into his ...er, her(?) feathers. If that happens, I'd say the chances are overwhelmingly in favor of Charlie being a female.

- Eric

Janie
01-26-2007, 08:09 AM