PDA

View Full Version : To fly or not to fly?

Teri
10-13-2007, 08:54 AM
Well thought it was time for an update on me and Cooper. I'm in my final year of college (thank God) and in November Me and Coope will have been together a yr. She's still a terrible biter but I've learned to avoid many of her bites and she now makes kissy sounds to me when she wants my attention and I'm in a different room. She's more of a hands off bird then I invisioned but I love her dearly and she has brought so much joy into my life. We sit at night and watch tv together and she loves for me to talk to her as I'm going about my business. lol She adores talking on the phone and listening to the answering machine!

Despite the fun we have I have a difficult decision to make. Last night Coope flew around my living room for the 1st time. I knew her wings were growing back but had no clue they had completely grown back till she took off. The look on my bird's face was priceless as she flew here and there exploring (I watched her carefully). I was always positive that a pet bird must have it's wings clipped for its own safty but to see her flying.. she appeared to be the happiest she's been since she came into my life. I don't know if I can bring myself to have her wings clipped again. :cry:

Need advice on this one guys!

eudaimonia
10-13-2007, 10:03 AM
My wife and I live in an apartment, and she convinced me not to clip, at least for now. The last time we clipped our bird's wings he would growl every time he tried to fly, as if it really hurt his ego.

We'll see how it goes. So far there's been no accidents, and Socrates knows every little detail of our apartment, so he expertly maneuvers around all the obstacles. Just be careful of the windows...

Teri
10-13-2007, 10:16 AM